PMB Bulletin - March 2019

Head of School Update

Prof Alan Boddy

Welcome to the first Bulletin for the year. It has been a busy start for me (and I’m sure most of us!).

Well done to the Academic Services team on organising another successful O-Week. It was great to see a wide range of staff members at the afternoon event. Next month is also a major one in our academic calendar with the annual Prizes and Awards event on Tuesday 9th of April, followed by graduations on Wednesday 17th. I hope a number of you will be able to come along and support our students at one or both of these. I understand the Prizes night is a long standing and very successful event, and look forward to being involved. 

Sandy Orgeig and I attended a “thank you” event on March 6th. This was to acknowledge the contribution of staff across the University to the recently-submitted UniSA application for Bronze status in the Athena Swan program.  Sandy will be working with the Sage working group to advance applications for further accreditation of selected units across the University, including PMB. 

I was also very pleased to attend the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia SA/NT Pharmacist awards on March 1st at the Pavilion on South Terrace.  The School was well-represented at the awards and Emeritus Professor Andy Gilbert received a special award, accepted by his daughter Alice. 

The latest QS rankings were recently published, with some good gains for UniSA. Specifically, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences rose from number the rank of 161 in 2018 to number 122 in 2019 and our Academic Reputation increased by 4.7 points. While the derivation of these rankings is not always simple, this is important for our international reputation, and so for attracting international students.

After an intensive recruitment campaign, I am happy to announce that the following two new academic staff have been appointed and both will commence on the 25th March.

Dr Sheree Bailey: Senior Lecturer in Laboratory Medicine

Sheree’s teaching focus will primarily be the coordination and teaching of professional courses in Laboratory Medicine, particularly haematology and transfusion science within the School’s undergraduate, honours and postgraduate programs and development of multidisciplinary teaching in the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences.

Sheree has 14 years experience as a Senior Medical Scientist in SA Pathology where she was Head of Unit of a major NATA accredited diagnostic cellular laboratory serving a major teaching hospital in South Australia.

Sheree’s research interests include:

  • Resistance mechanisms of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and chronic lymphocytic leukaemia cells to rituximab therapy.
  • Association of CD20 with the B cell receptor (BCR) and CD20, BCR and NF-κβ signal transduction pathways.
  • Conditions of CD20 store-operated calcium channel activation and the regulatory molecules involved in calcium flux.

Dr Layla Mahdi: Senior Lecturer in Clinical Microbiology

Layla’s teaching focus will primarily be the coordination and teaching of courses, particularly Clinical Microbiology, within the School’s undergraduate, honours and postgraduate programs in Laboratory Medicine and Medical Science and development of multidisciplinary teaching in the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences.

Layla has a background as a Medical Scientist and teaching Clinical Microbiology and was most recently at The University of Adelaide, Australian Centre for Antimicrobial Resistance Ecology.

Layla’s research interest include:

  • The pathogenesis of pneumococcal disease
  • Vaccine development including a potential dual vaccine for hepatitis B and streptococcal pyogenes
  • The pathobiology of spotty liver disease in commercial poultry

I would like to thank everyone from the School who has helped to support me in my transition to the joint role of Head of School and Director of the UniSA CRI. While I am stretched a bit more thinly, there are advantages for the School that come with these joint responsibilities.

As part of managing dual roles, there will be some changes to approval processes, within the pre-existing VCA. See below delegations:


Assoc Head: Academic

  • Leave approval for teaching academics –continue to direct leave requests to the relevant Program Director, who will then forward to Craig for final sign off.

  • Program Directors to send leave requests direct to Craig for approval and sign off (instead of Head of School).

  • International travel - When seeking pre-approval, please email Craig and cc Alan. Craig will be approving international travel (Bec will continue to approve domestic travel).

Assoc Head: Research

  • Leave approval for research academics – research staff to continue to direct leave requests to Research Leaders (line managers).

  • Research Leaders to direct leave requests directly to Sandy for approval and sign off (instead of Head of School).

Last but certainly not least; discussions regarding E25 continue. I would encourage you all to engage with the process of consultation, as outlined in the recent email from the VC. To register your interest to participate in any of the three sessions, if you haven’t already done so, just click on this link

Alan Boddy
Head of School, Pharmacy and Medical Sciences 


New appointments

Employee NamePosition TitleSupervisor

Dr Emily Reeve

Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice

Prof Alan Boddy

Prof Sandra Orgeig

Associate Head: Research 

Prof Alan Boddy

Dr Mafalda Dias 

Development Coordinator 

Ms Tammy LeBlanc

Mrs Carolyn Streckbein

Senior Technical Officer

Mr Richard Bennett

Dr Guy Abell

Adjunct Research Fellow

A/Prof Rietie Venter

Dr Josh Hixon

Adjunct Research Fellow

Dr Miguel De Barros Lopes