Staff Ballot

Staff Ballot

The University, NTEU and CPSU have agreed and finalised a new Enterprise Agreement for academic, professional, security and grounds staff.

The new Enterprise Agreement will now proceed to a formal vote for all eligible staff to approve. The ballot will be conducted through the confidential online electronic voting system used for UniSA University Committee election.

The ballot will commence at 9.00 am (ACST) on Monday 3 June 2019 and conclude at 5.00 pm (ACST) on Wednesday 5 June 2019.

Instructions on how to vote will be emailed to all eligible staff at approximately 8.45 am (ACST) on 3 June 2019 by the University’s Returning Officer.  Staff who are currently on leave and will be for the duration of the ballot period, will be sent a letter to their home address outlining the ballot process and inviting them to access their email, to find out about the new Enterprise Agreement and to cast their vote.

If staff have any questions, please refer to the details contained on this website or email the University’s enterprise bargaining team at


Policies, Procedures and Guidelines

Policies, procedures and guidelines referred to in the current 2014 Enterprise Agreement may be found here.

Please note that these documents only reflect the current 2014 Enterprise Agreement and will be updated to accord with the new 2019 Enterprise Agreement if the new agreement is approved by staff and the Fair Work Commission.

Legislative Requirements, Modern Awards and National Employment Standards

Legislative Requirements

The process to make an Enterprise Agreement including a step-by-step guide can be found on the Fair Work Commission website.

Modern Awards

Modern awards apply to staff if they are not covered by Enterprise Agreements.  The modern awards that otherwise would apply to academic, professional, security and grounds staff if not for the University’s Enterprise Agreement can be found on the Fair Work Commission website.

For academic staff - Higher Education Industry Academic Staff Award 2010

For professional, security and grounds staff - Higher Education Industry General Staff Award 2010

National Employment Standards

The National Employment Standards (NES) are 10 minimum employment entitlements that have to be provided to all employees.  The NES make up the minimum entitlements for employees in Australia.  An award, employment contract, enterprise agreement or other registered agreement can't provide for conditions that are less than the NES and they can’t exclude the NES.

The 10 minimum entitlements of the NES are:

  1. Maximum weekly hours
  2. Requests for flexible working arrangements
  3. Parental leave and related entitlements
  4. Annual leave
  5. Personal/carer's leave, compassionate leave and unpaid family and domestic violence leave
  6. Community service leave
  7. Long service leave
  8. Public holidays
  9. Notice of termination and redundancy pay
  10. Fair Work Information Statement

The National Employment Standards can be found in Part 2-2 of Chapter 2 under the Fair Work Act 2009, a copy of which is accessible from the Fair Work Commission website.