Academic Board

Board Functions

The Academic Board meet eight times per year and has three board functions:

  1. acting as a forum for the debate of University-wide academic issues
  2. responsibility for the review and evaluation of quality assurance processes, and the administration of academic and research matters
  3. providing formal input into corporate planning process, through the review of priorities and parameters for annual corporate plan.


Designated Members:

Prof Vicki Waye Chairperson
Assoc Prof Deirdre Tedmanson Deputy Chairperson
Prof David Lloyd Vice Chancellor & President
Prof Allan Evans Provost & Chief Academic Officer
Prof Simon Beecham Deputy Vice Chancellor: Research and Innovation
Prof Roger Eston Pro Vice Chancellor: Health Sciences
Prof Julie Mills Pro Vice Chancellor: IT, Engineering & the Environment
Prof Marie Wilson  Pro Vice Chancellor: Business and Law
Prof Joanne Cys Pro Vice Chancellor: Education, Arts and Social Sciences
Prof Carol Grech Pro Vice Chancellor: Student Engagement & Equity
Prof Irene Watson Pro Vice Chancellor: Aboriginal Leadership & Strategy
Mr Allan Tabor Director: Student and Academic Services
Prof Shane Dawson Director: Learning and Teaching
Mr Brendan Hughes Director: Student Engagement
Mr Richard Irons Director: Student and Academic Services
Prof Pat Buckley Dean of Graduate Studies
Mr Paul Sherlock Chief Information Officer
Assoc Prof Sharron King Head: UniSA College
Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis Director: Office of the Vice Chancellor and Strategic Programs
Mr Peter Cardwell  Executive Officer

Divisional Academic Representatives:

Dr Helena de Anstiss Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences
Assoc Prof Jane Lawrence Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences

Dr Sally Lewis

Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences
Dr Saras Sastrowardoyo UniSA Business School
Dr Sev Nagalingam UniSA Business School
Dr John Medlin UniSA Business School
Assoc Prof Shylie Mackintosh Division of Health Sciences
Dr Sarah List Division of Health Sciences
Assoc Prof Saravana Kumar Division of Health Sciences
Assoc Prof Jun Ma Division of IT, Engineering and the Environment
Assoc Prof Ivan Kempson Division of IT, Engineering and the Environment
Dr Ross Smith Division of IT, Engineering and the Environment

Representative of the Professoriate:
Prof Julie Mills

Heads of School Representative:
Prof Ruth Rentschler

General Staff Representative from the University at large:
Ms Terry Jones

Academic Staff Representatives from the Academic Portfolio:
Assoc Prof Barbara Parker

Directors of Research Institutes and Centres Representative:
Assoc Prof Angela Scarino

Divisional Directors/Senior Academic Service Managers Representative:
Mr Rhys Williams

Student Representatives:
Ms Grace Dixon
Mr Noah Beckmann
Ms Bridget Barletta
Ms Nida Baig

Academic Board Terms of Reference

Reporting relationships

  • to report to University Council on each of its meetings
  • to consider matters referred to it by University Council
  • to receive reports from (i) Division Boards (ii) Sub-Committees of Academic Board and any other committees that are from time to time established
  • to provide advice to other committees of Council as required.


  • to delegate certain functions to its Sub-Committees, to Division Boards or such other committees as it shall from time to time propose
  • to perform functions delegated to it by University Council.

Role and functions

  • to act as a forum for the debate of University-wide academic issues
  • to foster excellence in teaching, learning and research in the University
  • to oversee quality assurance and the administration of academic matters
  • to approve proposals for the development of undergraduate and postgraduate courses
  • to approve policies and procedures related to teaching, learning, research and student administration
  • to provide advice on the development of the annual Educational Profile and associated matters
  • to provide formal input into the corporate planning process through the review of priorities and parameters for the annual Corporate Plan.

Committees of Academic Board

Academic Board Meeting Schedule, Agendas & Minutes 2019

Close of Papers Meeting Date Agenda Minutes 
11 February 2019  22 February 2019  Agenda 1/19 (pdf)  Minutes 1/19 (pdf)
11 March 2019 22 March 2019  Agenda 2/19 (pdf)  Minutes 2/19 (pdf)
13 May 2019 24 May 2019  Agenda 3/19 (pdf)  Minutes 3/19 (pdf)
17 June 2019 28 June 2019  Agenda 4/19 (pdf)  
15 July 2019 26 July 2019    
16 September 2019 27 September 2019    
14 October 2019 25 October 2019    
11 November 2019 22 November 2019    

Academic Board Meeting Schedule, Agendas & Minutes 2018

Close of Papers Meeting Date Agenda Minutes 
12 February 2018  23 February 2018 Agenda 1/18 (pdf)  Minutes 1/18 (pdf)
12 March 2018 23 March 2018 Agenda 2/18 (pdf)  Minutes 2/18 (pdf)
14 May 2018 25 May 2018 Agenda 3/18 (pdf)  Minutes 3/18 (pdf)
11 June 2018 22 June 2018 Agenda 4/18 (pdf)  Minutes 4/18 (pdf)
16 July 2018 27 July 2018 Agenda 5/18 (pdf)  Minutes 5/18 (pdf)
17 September 2018 28 September 2018 Agenda 6/18 (pdf)  Minutes 6/18 (pdf)
15 October 2018 26 October 2018 Agenda 7/18 (pdf)  Minutes 7/18 (pdf)
12 November 2018 23 November 2018 Agenda 8/18 (pdf)  Minutes 8/18 (pdf)

Academic Board Meeting Schedule, Agendas & Minutes 2017

Close of PapersMeeting Date Agenda Minutes 
13 February 2017 24 February 2017 Agenda 1/17 (pdf)  Minutes 1/17 (pdf) 
13 March 2017 24 March 2017 Agenda 2/17 (pdf)  Minutes 2/17 (pdf)
15 May 2017 26 May 2017 Agenda 3/17 (pdf)  Minutes 3/17 (pdf)
12 June 2017 23 June 2017 Agenda 4/17 (pdf)  Minutes 4/17 (pdf)
17 July 2017 28 July 2017 Agenda 5/17 (pdf)  Minutes 5/17 (pdf)
11 September 2017 22 September 2017 Agenda 6/17 (pdf)  Minutes 6/17 (pdf)
16 October 2017 27 October 2017 Agenda 7/17 (pdf)  Minutes 7/17 (pdf)
13 November 2017 24 November 2017 Agenda 8/17 (pdf)  Minutes 8/17 (pdf)