Systems up or down

 

Deleted Items

NOTE: Deleted Items are only held for 30 days. After 30 days there is no way to recover them.

  1. Click the Folder tab
  2. Click Recover Deleted Items
  3. Select the item(s) you want to recover
  4. Click OK
  5. Items will then appear in the folder they were deleted from

NOTE: The items displayed when you go to Recover Deleted Items will differ depending on what folder you are within your mailbox eg Inbox, Sent or Deleted Items. If you cannot remember where the items were deleted from you may wish to check all possible options eg Inbox, Sent Items and Deleted Items.

Or step by step instructions (including screenshots) can be found on the how do I recover Deleted Items? page.

The below can be used within any folder in Outlook, including PST file folders.

  1. Selecting one or more emails
  2. Hit the Delete key
    NOTE: These emails will still contribute to mailbox size until you Empty Deleted Items

It is possible to permanently delete items by using SHIFT + DELETE.  Outlook will request confirmation that you want to permanently delete the selected item(s).
NOTE: Once confirmed there is no way to retrieve these items.

Or for additional tips and tricks on deleting emails and folders see the manually deleting unwanted emails/folder page.

Outlook can be set to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder on exiting Outlook by:

  1. Click File
  2. Click Options
  3. Click Advanced
  4. Tick Empty Deleted Items folder when exiting Outlook under Outlook start and exit
  5. Click Ok

NOTE: The above will only work if you close Outlook manually, it will not work if Outlook is forced to close on Shutdown.

Or step by step instructions (including screenshots) can be found on the can Outlook automatically empty Deleted Items? page.

  1. Right mouse click Deleted Items
  2. Click Empty Folder
  3. Click Yes on confirmation pop-up
    NOTE: Even though the pop-up says the emails will permanently be deleted you still have the 30 day grace period to Recover Deleted Items.

NOTE: Your mailbox size has now been reduced, but will take a little time to reflect this and remove any restrictions.

Or step by step instructions (including screenshots) can be found on the how to manually Empty Deleted Items page.